Women’s Rowing Leads NEWMAC as 60 Spring Student-Athletes Named All-Academic

Women’s Rowing Leads NEWMAC as 60 Spring Student-Athletes Named All-Academic

Westwood, MA --- Led by eight three-time honorees, 60 spring student-athletes represented WPI on their respective NEWMAC Academic All-Conference teams.

Ama Biney (Worcester, MA), Katie Chagami (Waipahu, HI) and RiAnna May (Westminster, CO) earned their third for softball as Brittney Lambert (Hudson, NH), Emily Newman (Easton, MA) and Lea Strangio (Watertown, MA) picked up their third women's track & field, and Jack DeVine (Wilbraham, MA) and Jimmy Doty (Queensbury, NY) were three-time honorees for men's track & field. In all, Women's Track & Field led the five WPI programs with 17 selections while Women's Rowing led the conference with 14. Men's Track & Field led the men with 13 selections. Baseball boasted 12 and Softball secured four.

Emma MacIntyre (Grand Island, NY) and Abby McAdams (Montville, CT) were repeat picks and Gina Capobianco (Colonie, NY) returned to the women's track & field scroll. Repeat juniors featured Michelle Gencorelli (Andover, MA), Cole Godzinski (North Reading, MA), Xandria Korn (Woodinville, WA), Katie Nugent (Huntington, CT) and Kendra O'Malley (Charlton, MA). Kristen Detloff (Vernon, NJ) was joined by sophomores Faye Gauthier (West Warwick, RI), Nicole Mattson (Marion, MA), Sydney Packard (Georgetown, MA), Ari Rozen (Carver, MA) and Callie Schadt (Brewster, MA) as first time honorees.

Women's Rowing senior Alexandra Connor (Baldwinsville, NY) was a repeat selection, as was juniors Eva Barinelli (Tewksbury, MA), Madeline Burke (Verona, NJ), Diana Celaj (Worcester, MA), Catherine Matyas (Glastonbury, MA), Paula Sardi (Cali, Colombia) and Sarah St. Pierre (Maynard, MA). First timers included juniors Marlies de Jong (Huntington Beach, CA), Madison Healey (Atkinson, NH) and Mary Sheehan (Huntington, NY), and sophomores Josephine Bowen (Lunenburg, MA), Christine Hovermale (Alameda, CA), Olivia Kiritsis (Upton, MA) and Ally Sichler (Reading, PA).

Senior Warren Staver (Centreville, MD) and juniors Lucas Gagne (Franklin, NH) and Kevin Pawlak (Westford, MA) picked up their second accolade for men's track & field. Juniors Antoine Harris (Southington, CT) and Mark Landergan (Newburyport, MA), and sophomores Nick Fleury (Hopkinton, NH), Tom Hanlon (Derry, NH), Garth Hull (Arlington, MA), Avery Ingegneri (Warwick, RI), Matt Jankowski (Burlington, MA) and Jake Scarponi (Barrington, NH) were all selected for the first time.

Juniors Sam Bacchiocchi (Freetown, MA) and Tyler Weiss (Monroe, CT) were the repeat picks for Baseball. Graduate student Sean Fallon (Westwood, MA), senior Evan Lacroix (Methuen, MA) along with juniors Benjamin Chaffee (Franklin, MA), Dominic Fusco (North Haven, CT) and Ryan Tropeano (Pembroke, MA) all claimed their first certificate. Nick Colucci (Lynnfield, MA), Kyle Foley (Watertown, MA), Jake Spada (Middleton, MA), Kyle Wood (Hauppauge, NY) and Nick Wright (Foxboro, MA) earned the honor in their first year of eligibility.

Kelsey Saucier (Worcester, MA) accounted for the fourth Softball nod.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2017 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at their institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.


NEWMAC Releases: Women's Rowing | Women's Track & Field | Men's Track & Field | Baseball | Softball