72 WPI Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

72 WPI Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

Westwood, MA --- Led by seven three-time honorees, WPI placed 72 fall student-athletes on their respective NEWMAC Academic All-Conference teams. Football led the department with 21 selections while Volleyball boasted a NEWMAC-best nine. Men's Soccer boasted 11, followed by Women's Soccer (9) and Field Hockey (8). Women's Cross Country once again tied its program record with eight and Men's Cross Country produced six.

Men's Soccer was guided by Riley Doherty (Shrewsbury, MA), Spencer Ralphs (Simsbury, CT) and Jake Steinberg (Shrewsbury, MA) while Azita Bakhtyari (Andover, MA) and Casey Hunt (Granby, CT) represented Volleyball, and graduate student Emily Newman (Easton, MA) and senior Steffany Halfrey (Hubbardston, MA) collected their third for Women's Cross Country. Football's Tristin Carlton (Coventry, RI) and Nick Day (Northampton, MA) earned their second to go along with one from the Liberty League.

The NEWMAC-leading volleyball team saw senior Victoria Nassar (Atkinson, NH) along with all three juniors; Abbie Gilbert (Hopkinton, MA), Colleen Mullins (Andover, MA) and Kassidy Utheim (Monroe Township, NJ) collect their second accolade, and sophomores Kayleigh Campbell (Wilbraham, MA), Sarah Kwatinetz (Seattle, WA) and Amanda Wetmore (Hudson, NH) earn their first.

Football seniors Luca Cerasani (Abington, MA), Sam Malafronte (Abington, MA) and Collin Saunders (Westwood, NJ), who were Liberty League selections in 2016, picked up their first NEWMAC honor while classmate Erik Fyrer (Ipswich, MA) was recognized in his first year of eligibility. Juniors Zack Ahrens (South Glens Falls, NY), Ben Emrick (Windham, NH), Clark Ewen (Arlington, MA), Nick Ostrowski (Charlton, MA) and Nick Samuelson (Sandy Hook, CT) all earned their second in as many years and were joined by Julian Nyland (Melrose, MA), Stephen Peterson (Maynard, MA) and Zach Uglevich (Maynard, MA) on this year's scroll. Sophomores TJ Cooper (Shirley, MA), Lou Duh (Monroe, CT), Adam Klosner (Ilion, NY), Hunter Lutte (Wind Gap, PA), Ryan Michaud (Salem, NH), Kevin Moore (Greenland, NH) and Tim Ryan (Schenectady, NY) all picked up their first nod.

Men's Soccer senior Frank Ciliberto (Spencerport, NY) earned back-to-back honors as did juniors Mark Calnan (Winchester, MA), Jackson Conroy (Reading, MA), Jivan Purutyan (Concord, MA) and Luke Reiniger (Rowley, MA). Junior Luke Lindholm (Sterling, MA) made his debut along with sophomores Rufus Adams (Duxbury, MA) and Sebastian Royo (Southboro, MA).

The women's soccer team featured repeat selections in juniors Jill Comeau (North Reading, MA), Becca Hapgood (Halifax, MA), Kristen McCrea (Weymouth, MA), Kirsten Southan (Owings, MD) and Mandy St. Germain (Worcester, MA). Graduate student Kara Martin (North Hampton, NH), and sophomores Jenna Hirshfeld (Reston, VA), Isabelle Jaquith (Niskayuna, NY), and Lauren Kaija (Reading, VT) made the list for the first time.

Field Hockey senior Karen Mushrall (Mariaville, ME), and juniors Carly Cidado (Easton, MA) and Hannah Larochelle (New Boston, NH) were back-to-back recipients as senior Carrie Pozaic (West Wyoming, PA) made a return appearance. First time honorees included junior Suzy Opalka (Harvard, MA), and sophomores Emma Bennett (Hampstead, NH), Abby O'Sullivan (Walpole, MA) and Julia Vanderstreet (West Bridgewater, MA).

Women's Cross Country saw senior Katie Nugent (Huntington Station, NY) earn her first fall accolade while juniors Sydney Packard (Georgetown, MA) and Ari Rozen (Carver, MA) secured their second, and sophomores Amanda Lowther (Syracuse, NY), Keely Nistler (Vadnais Heights, MN) and Madison Perry (Biddeford, ME) pocketed their first.

The Men's Cross Country team featured juniors Tom Hanlon (Derry, NH) and Avery Ingegneri (Warwick, MA) as repeat honorees as senior Mark Landergan (Newburyport, MA), junior Jake Scarponi (Barrington, NH), and sophomores Logan Gaudette (Holden, MA) and Ben Steeves (Hollis, ME) were first time selections.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2018 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at his/her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

NEWMAC Men's Cross Country | NEWMAC Women's Cross Country | NEWMAC Field Hockey | NEWMAC Football

NEWMAC Men's Soccer | NEWMAC Women's Soccer | NEWMAC Women's Volleyball