30 WPI Winter Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

30 WPI Winter Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

Westwood, MA --- Guided by four men and three women from the WPI swimming & diving programs, 30 winter student-athletes were named to their respective NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Teams. The women's team led the way with 17, which was second in the league by two selections, while the men's team boasted 10. Women's Basketball notched two and Men's Basketball registered one.

Earning accolades for the third time were seniors Jack Bauer (Cumberland, RI), Roberto Esquivel (Tegucigalpa, Honduras), Jackson Perry (Cumberland, RI) and Hendrick Suwirjo (Derry, NH), as well as Caroline Flynn (Norwell, MA), Kelly Martin (Penfield, NY) and Jenna Vandervort (Voorheesville, NY). They were joined by repeat selections, Jean Philippe Miralda (Tegucigalpa, Honduras), Chris Nelson (Millbury, MA), Sofie de Oliveira (Portland, ME), Emma Edwardson (Cary, NC), Sydney Seo (North Andover, MA) and Leigh Whitehorn (Madison, NJ).

Craig Barrett (Edinburgh, Scotland), Joshua Driscoll (Haverhill, MA), Mackenzie Karnilaw (Houston, TX) and Anna Matsco (Windham, NH) were first time selections as were Emmett McCann (Seattle, WA), Matthew Scherrer (Wellesley, MA), Erica Houghton (Berkley, MA), Annie Hughes (Woodbury, NJ), Deanna Kay (Tyngsboro, MA), Julia Noël (Beverly, MA), Elena Raden (Hockessin, DE), Nicole Shedd (North Reading, MA), Molly Silsby (Augusta, ME) and Shelvey Swett (Olympia, WA) in their first year of eligibility.

Sophomores Maddie Blake (Bedford, NH) and Caitlin Boermeester (Billerica, MA) represented the women's basketball team and Colin McNamara (Arlington, MA) represented the men's squad as first time honorees.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2018 fall semester, achieved second year academic status, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

NEWMAC Releases: Women's Swimming & Diving | Men's Swimming & Diving | Women's Basketball | Men's Basketball