53 WPI Spring Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

53 WPI Spring Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

Westwood, MA --- Paced by 14 three-time honorees, 53 WPI spring student-athletes have garnered NEWMAC Academic All-Conference status.

Rowing tied Smith for the conference lead with 13 selections while Women's Track & Field led the Engineers with 14 nods. Men's Track & Field also garnered 13 as Baseball touted 12 and Softball earned one.

Eva Barinelli (Tewskbury, MA), Madeline Burke (Verona, NJ), Paula Sardi (Cali, Colombia) and Sarah St. Pierre (Maynard, MA) were the rowing team's three-time selections as Marlies de Jong (Huntington Beach, CA) and Madison Healey (Atkinson, NH) collected their second, as did Josephine Bowen (Lunenburg, MA), Christine Hovermale (Alameda, CA), Olivia Kiristis (Charlton, MA) and Ally Sichler (Reading, PA). First time honorees included Amelia Harvey (Weston, MA), Kayla Legatt (Randolph, NJ) and Tricia Smith (West Simsbury, CT).

Women's Track & Field was paced by three-time honorees Michelle Gencorelli (Andover, MA), Cole Godzinski (North Reading, MA), Steffany Halfrey (Hubbardston, MA), Xandria Korn (Woodinville, WA), Katie Nugent (Huntington Station. NY) and Kendra O'Malley (Charlton, MA). Faye Gauthier (West Warwick, RI) and Callie Schadt (Brewster, MA) earned their second while Allison Kloeckner (Shelburne, VT), Amanda Lowther (Syracuse, NY), Katy Nippert (Salem, NH), Keely Nistler (Vadnais Heights, MN), Madison Perry (Biddeford, ME) and Arden Tanner (Ventura, CA) picked up their first.

Lucas Gagne (Franklin, NH) and Kevin Pawlak (Westford, MA) headlined Men's Track & Field honorees with their third honor. Antoine Harris (Southington, CT) and Mark Landergan (Newburyport, MA), as well as, Nick Fleury (Hopkinton, NH) and Garth Hull (Arlington, MA) were repeat selections. Taking home the certificate for the first time are Kyle Gerlach (Smithfield, RI), Matt Adiletta (Bolton, MA), Mark Bray (Shrewsbury, MA), Malek Elshakhs (Storrs, CT), Logan Gaudette (Holden, MA), Ben Steeves (Hollis, ME) and Oliver Thomas (Goffstown, NH).

Sam Bacchiocchi (East Freetown, MA) and Tyler Weiss (Monroe, CT) earned the award all three years of eligibility while classmates Benjamin Chaffee (Franklin, MA), Dominic Fusco (North Haven, CT) and Ryan Tropeano (Pembroke, MA) garnered their second nod. Nick Colucci (Lynnfield, MA), Kyle Foley (Watertown, MA), Kyle Wood (Hauppauge, NY) and Nick Wright (Foxboro, MA) were back-to-back selections as TJ DellaCroce (Waxhaw, NC) and Ben Seeto (Clinton, MA) claimed their first as did graduate student Matt Howard (Worcester, MA).

Brittany Bolster (North Kingstown, RI) represented the softball team and earned the laurels in her first year of eligibility.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2018 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute. Rowing also includes Simmons University.

NEWMAC Releases: Women's Rowing | Women's Track & Field | Men's Track & Field | Baseball | Softball