McAllen Reels in New England Football Writers Division II/III Accolades

Sean McAllen

Manchester, NH --- WPI sophomore running back Sean McAllen (Prospect, CT) has earned a coveted spot on the 2017 New England Football Writers Division II/III All-New England team.

It is the third time in four years an Engineer has been selected as Brian Murtagh '17, who was also honored as a sophomore, was recognized in 2014 and 2016.

McAllen, the Liberty League Rookie of the Year and All-Conference second team member in 2016, was upgraded to the inaugural NEWMAC All-Conference first team in 2017. He owns the Engineers single season rushing record with 1,368 yards, currently the second-best total in the NEWMAC. McAllen is also second in yards per game (124.4), rushing touchdowns (15) and third in yards per rush (5.7). The Engineer eclipsed 100 yards seven times with a career-high 246 in the opener versus Anna Maria to go with 237 yards and two scores as a receiver.

In all, 30 players representing 20 different teams have been named to the 2017 New England Football Writers Division II/III All-New England team.

Northeast-10 Conference champion Assumption College leads the way with four selections, while New England Women's & Men's Athletic Conference champion Springfield College had three picks. Eastern Collegiate Football Conference champion Husson University, and New England Small College Athletic Conference titlist Trinity College, Framingham State University and The University of New Haven each had a pair of players honored.  Also named to the squad were players from Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference champion Plymouth State University, Amherst College, Becker College, Bentley University, Bridgewater State University, Castleton University, Curry College, Dean College, Salve Regina University, Stonehill College, UMass Dartmouth, Wesleyan University, Western New England University Worcester State University, and WPI.

The Division II Northeast-10 Conference had eight players selected, while from Division III the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference had six selections. Commonwealth Coast Football, the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference, the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference and the New England Small College Athletic Conference had four selections each.

The team will be honored at the New England Football Writers Captains and Awards Banquet on Tuesday, December 5, at the Montvale Plaza, in Stoneham, MA.  People interested in attending should contact Dick Lipe at Bentley University at 781-891-2334.  

Majority Release Courtesy Roger Crosley, New England Football Writers

New England Football Writers Release