McAllen and Lucca Named to the New England Football Writers All‐New England Team

Lucca, McAllen, Football

Cambridge, MA --- For the first time under 10-year head coach Chris Robertson, WPI had a pair of football player selected to the prestigious New England Football Writers College Division All‐New England Team.  Running back Sean McAllen (Prospect, CT) earned the honor for the second time while center Vince Lucca (Granby, CT) was named for the first time. 

McAllen, who also drew the accolade as a sophomore in 2018, joins former linebacker Brian Murtagh (2014 and 2016) as the only two-time awardee for Robertson   Others to take home the honor of the past decade include defensive back John Perron in 2011 and offensive tackle Tyler Lapierre in 2010. 

McAllen, the NEWMAC's Offensive Player of the Year, is one of WPI's most accomplished players in program history.  Just one of two players to rush for over 1,000 yards twice in his career, including 1,233 this season, McAllen became the Engineers all-time leading rusher after gaining 164 yards en route to being named MVP of the New England Bowl Series following WPI's 35-6 victory Saturday over Western Connecticut.  The senior ended with 50 career touchdowns and 300 points, which is second all-time on Boynton Hill.  McAllen was the Liberty League Rookie of the Year in 2016 and three-time All-NEWMAC selection and was Academic All-District this fall. 

Lucca was the centerpiece of a dominant offensive line in 2019. After starting game at guard as a freshman and sophomore, the senior has started at center the past two years and was selected second team All-NEWMAC a season ago before upgrading to first team this fall.  Lucca anchored an offensive line that allowed just five sacks in 11 games and established multiple records including points in a game (70), points in a season (473), yards per game (461.5), rushing yards per game (235.8) and rushing touchdowns (44).  Lucca and his fellow offense linemen paved away for McAllen to post the third most rushing yards in a season (1,233) and quarterback Julian Nyland (Melrose, MA) to throw for the second most yards (2,276) in the 130-year history of WPI football.   

Twenty‐nine players representing 20 different teams have been named to the 2019 New England Football Writers College Division All‐New England Team. New England Division III Bowl winner Endicott College leads the team with three selections. Northeast ‐10 champion Bentley University, Commonwealth Coast Conference champion Western New England University, Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference champion Framingham State University, New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference co‐champion WPI, Assumption College, Stonehill College and Salve Regina University each had two selections. Players from 12 additional colleges and universities round out the team. 

The Division II Northeast‐10 Conference led the way with nine selections. The Commonwealth Coast Conference had eight players honored. Four players were selected by from the Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference. The New England Small College Athletic Conference and New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference had three selections each, while the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference placed two players on the team. 

The team will be honored at the New England Football Writers Captains and Awards Banquet on Thursday, December 12, at Rosaria Restaurant and Function Facility in Saugus, Mass. Tickets are $60/person and are available only by credit card at‐%26‐awards‐banquet. People interested in attending should contact Dick Lipe at Bentley University at 781‐891‐2334 so tables can be assigned. 

Portions of Release Courtesy Roger Crosley, New England Football Writers 

New England Football Writers Release