Shevchuk Leads Field Hockey to 13th Consecutive NFHCA National Academic Team Award

Hope Shevchuk

Chandler, AZ --- Senior Hope Shevchuk (Burlington, CT) claimed her fourth National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Scholar of Distinction honor while 10 others were also named to the National Academic Squad and the team earned its 13th consecutive National Academic Team Award. 

Junior Sabrina Guzzi (Suffield, CT), a three-time National Academic Squad member, joined the dual sport student-athlete on the Scholar of Distinction scroll. Senior Allie Buckley (Worcester, MA) and Izzy Garver (Owls Head, ME) also secured their third as junior Amanda Richards (Wilmington, MA), sophomore Carrie Pozaic (West Wyoming, PA), and sophomore Zoe Schwartz (Smithfield, RI) collected their second in as many years. Junior Abby King (Fairfield, ME) returned to the list while sophomore Karen Noble (Mariaville, ME), as well as newcomers Hannah Larochelle (New Boston, NH) and Suzy Opalka (Harvard, MA) met the requirements for the first time.

All three awards are based on GPA during the fall semester of the current academic year. Scholars of Distinction have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.90 or higher while the National Academic Squad honorees achieved a 3.0 and the National Academic Team Award recognizes those institutions that achieved a minimum team grade-point average of 3.0.

National Academic Team Release

National Academic Squad Release

Scholars of Distinction Release