Field Hockey Earns 15th Consecutive NFHCA Academic Team Award

Emma Bennett and Natalie Mohn

Gilbert, AZ --- Sophomore Emma Bennett (Hampstead, NH) repeated as a National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division III Scholar of Distinction, and four others were recognized as three-time National Academic Squad honorees, as a total of 13 members of the WPI field hockey team were key in guiding the program to its 15th consecutive National Academic Team Award. Freshman Natalie Mohn (Huntington, VT) was also feted as a scholar of distinction.

Both Bennett and Mohn achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.9 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year.

Senior Karen Mushrall (Mariaville, ME), junior Hannah Larochelle (New Boston, NH) and junior Suzy Opalka (Harvard, MA) secured spots on the academic squad for the third consecutive season while senior Carrie Pozaic (West Wyoming, PA) returned to the scroll after earning honors for 2015 and 2016. Bennett was joined by junior Carly Cidado (Easton, MA), sophomore Abby O'Sullivan (Walpole, MA), Julia Vanderstreet (West Bridgewater, MA) as back-to-back academic selections while freshmen Lauren Dishong (Milford, NH), Angie Ferro (Northboro, MA), Zoe Januszewski (Ventura, CA) and Kelsey Wilkinson (Wilbraham, MA) accompanied Mohn as a first-time selection.  

The Division III National Academic Squad program honors student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year while the Division III National Academic Team Award recognizes programs that earned a team grade-point average of 3.0 or higher during the fall semester of the 2018-19 school year.

NFHCA Team Award | Academic Squad | Scholars of Distinction