Men's Rowing Regains the McCarthy/McGee Challenge Cup by Defeating Boston College

Novice Eight

WORCESTER -- WPI's men's rowing's varsity eight won back the McCarthy/McGee Challenge Cup in racing with Boston College Saturday on Lake Quinsigamond.  The Engineers now own the Cup for the first time since its initial competition in 2013.  The all-time series is now 2-2. 

In the varsity eight, the Crimson and Gray bested the Division I Eagles by nearly 10 seconds (5:51.40 to 6:01.14).   UMass was third in a time of 6:06.23 while Coast Guard was fourth (6:16.97).  The WPI second varsity eight caught a crab just as it was making its move against Boston College and fell by just under five seconds (6:09.37 to 6:19.06).  The Minutemen were nearly 10 seconds back in third (6:19.06). 

The novice eight out-stroked BC in a head-to-head race.  The Boynton Hillers posted a time of 6:19.18 while the Eagles reached the finish line in 6:23.79.  Boston College turned the tables in the third varsity eight, notching a time of 6:30.91 to knock off WPI (6:46.26). 

The Engineers now head to the postseason, taking part in the New England Championships on Lake Quinsigamond next Saturday.


Varsity Eight A
Kelsey Regan (Winchendon, MA) - Coxswain
Michael Beinor (Sutton, MA)
Nick Cebry (Bedford, MA)
Michael Eaton (Exeter, NH)
Jeremy Hemingway (Westford, MA)
Danny Singer (Eldersburg, MD)
Dean Schifilliti (Ossining, NY)
Nathan Pietrowicz (Worcester, MA)
Keegan Train (Minnetonka, MN) 

Second Varsity Eight
Sarah Terwilliger (Guilford, CT) - Coxswain
Nicholas Carabillo (Simsbury, CT)
Lorenzo Dube (Fall River, MA)
Scott Cazier (Wheat Ridge, CO)
Jackson Krupnick (Ashville, NC)
Brede Doerner (Branford, CT)
Frank Campanelli (Avon, CT)
Jack Harding (Lee, MA)
Jack Perry (Londonderry, NH) 

Third Varsity Eight A
Lily Olsen (Princeton, NJ) - Coxswain
Matthew Ryder (Lebanon, NH)
Cooper Wolanin (Barre, MA)
James Velez (Andover, MA)
Jon Metzger (Glastonbury, CT)
Matt Schueler (Bridgewater, NJ)
Johnny Wang (Qinhuangdao, China)
Dimitrios Tsiakmakis (Kalandra, Greece)
Joe Crognale (Dedham, MA) 

Novice Eight
Cassie Pepicelli (Mansfield, MA) - Coxswain
John O'Leary (Rochester, NY)
Rob Hayes (Amesbury, MA)
David Bovich (Verona, NJ)
David Muse (Rye, NH)
Kellen Randall (Media, PA)
Kyle Whittaker (Methuen, MA)
Marshall Patrolia (Marshfield, MA)
Myles Spencer (Harrisville, NH) 

Varsity Four (Racing for a time in the Novice Four)
Kenedi Heather (Taunton, MA) - Coxswain
James Vorosmarti (Center Valley, PA)
Paul Esteve (Colchester, CT)
Paul Danielson (Niskayuna, NY)
Zach Estrella (Berkley, MA)