Men's Soccer Tied Up by MCLA on Day Two of the CIAO Classic

Brien Hard

North Adams, MA --- The WPI men's soccer team saw its perfect season come to an end but remained undefeated following a scoreless double overtime draw with host MCLA on Sunday afternoon on the second day of the CIAO Classic.  The Engineers are now 5-0-1 on the year while the Trailblazers see their record move to 0-2-2. 

WPI outshot the hosts 21-9 but saw MCLA enjoy a slight advantage in shots on target 8-7.  WPI really held an edge in corner kicks, attempting 18 of the match's 20 from the corner arc. 

The Crimson and Gray, who blanked Union 2-0 during opening day action on Saturday, did not allow a goal in 200 minutes of tournament action.  Sophomore goalkeeper Jordan Finzel (Northport, NY) made eight saves on Sunday en route to posting his first shutout of the season and third career clean sheet.  It was classmate Connor Hoeckele (Granby, CT) who turned the shutout trick Saturday versus the Dutchmen. 

Kamron Anderson (Springfield, MA) made seven stops in net for the Trailblazers. 

Chris Murray (Canton, MA), Brendan Nemes (Kingston, MA), Frank Ciliberto (Spencerport, NY), Riley Doherty (Shrewsbury, MA) and Anthony Vigliotta (Beverly, MA) all registered multiple shots for WPI while Anthony Basile (East Longmeadow, MA), Tyler Vona (Highland, NY) and Edward Boateng (Worcester, MA) accomplished the feat for MCLA. 

"Today's game was a tough match against MCLA," remarked WPI head coach Brian Kelley.  "They are tough to beat at home. We created some good  chances but couldn't convert.  At the other end of the field Jordan Finzel was immense in goal.  Overall we had a good weekend but I sense the players were a little disappointed with today's result."  

Nemes, who had scored twice in Saturday triumph versus Union, was named Tournament MVP and was joined on the all-tournament team by Finzel.

WPI is back in action Wednesday, heading to seventh-ranked Brandeis at 7pm.  MCLA is off until Saturday, opening MASCAC play with a 1pm match against defending conference regular season champions Bridgewater State.