Lybarger Earns All-NEWMAC Honor For Men's Swimming and Diving at Conference Championship Meet

Andrew Lybarger

Cambridge, MA --- Andrew Lybarger (Decatur, GA) bettered his NCAA B qualifying time in the 200-yard butterfly with a time of 1:51.55, coming in second place as WPI competed in the third and final day of the NEWMAC Men's Swimming and Diving Championships on Sunday at the MIT campus. 

Lybarger becomes the first Engineer to earn All-NEWMAC individual honors since he won the 200-yard butterfly as a freshman in 2009. Lybarger's time surpassed last year's NCAA selection time. 

The 400-yard freestyle relay event was another strong finish for the Engineers, as Ben List (Bedford, MA), Ben Collins (Newbury, MA), Adam Trumbley (Prospect, CT) and Lybarger combined to finish fourth with a time of 3:12.07. 

Eric Spazzarini (Enfield, CT) was eighth in the 200-yard butterfly with a 1:59.51. Nick Houghton (Berkley, MA) finished tenth in the 1650-yard freestyle with a time of 16:40.08. In the 100-yard freestyle, List was 13th with a time of 47.29. 

The 200-yard breaststroke featured three Engineers finishing back-to-back-to-back, led by Keith Gagnon's (West Hartford, CT) 13th place finish (2:17.95), Rob Cakounes (Chelmsford, MA) in 14th (2:18.15) and Cullen O'Brien (Bar Harbor, ME) in 15th (2:18.22). 

Carl Curran (Keene, NH) was in 14th in the 1650-yard freestyle with a 16:58.56, while Nick Catano (Goffstown, NH) was 17th with 17:31.08. 

In the 200-yard backstroke prelims, Keahi Goodale (Kailua-Kona, HI) was 18th (2:05.51) and James Perez-Rogers (Woodstock, NY) was just behind him in 19th (2:05.65).  

Story written by Mike Rupp - WPI Athletics