25 WPI Winter Student-Athletes Praised by NEWMAC for Academics

25 WPI Winter Student-Athletes Praised by NEWMAC for Academics

BOSTON – The NEWMAC released its 2015-16 Academic All-Conference award winners in the sports of men's basketball, women's basketball, men's swimming & diving, and women's swimming & diving Tuesday. Highlighting the selections were three-time honorees Mark Overdevest (Morrinsville, New Zealand) from men's basketball, Nathan Hughes (Arlington, VA) from men's swimming & diving and Kate Gillis (Needham, MA) and Veronica Nikolaki (Athens, Greece) from women's swimming and diving.

The men's swimming & diving team placed second in the conference in the pool this past weekend and added a second place finish in number of student-athletes to earn academic recognition with nine. Juniors Ricky Coffin (Pleasant Valley, NY) and Tim Petri (Eksjo, Sweden) earned the award for the second consecutive season and were joined this year by classmate Andrew Bauer (Cumberland, RI). Sophomores Bryant Babel (Oceanside, NY), Karim Elsayed (Cairo, Egypt), Mike Giancola (Southwick, MA), Randy Melanson (Attleboro, MA) and David Smallwood (Bangor, ME) took home the hardware in their first year of eligibility.

Women's Swimming & Diving juniors Emily Martin (Penfield, NY) and Abbey Nack (Ghent, NY) were named for the second year in-a-row while Eva Childers (Henniker, NH) and Sierra Fowler (Bensalem, PA) made the cut for the first time this season. Allie Connor (Baldwinsville, NY), Jenny Day (Chelsmford, MA), Hayley Poskus (Middleboro, MA) and Kaitlin Travers (Northampton, MA) are now 1-for-1 in claiming the accolade.

Women's Basketball senior Haili Welton (Southbury, CT) was tabbed in her final year as sophomores Ama Biney (Worcester, MA), Brittney Lambert (Hudson, NH) and Maura Buckley (Melrose, MA) made it in their initial season of eligibility.

Overdevest was joined on the men's basketball Academic All-Conference team by sophomore Chris Rodgers (Franklin, MA) who made it on the first try.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2015 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.