Loehle and Gonzalez-Roundy Highlight NIRC and NERC Women's Rowing Postseason Awards

Loehle and Gonzalez-Roundy Highlight NIRC and NERC Women's Rowing Postseason Awards

WORCESTER – WPI women's rowing junior Victoria Loehle (Morganville, NJ) and sophomore Gina Gonzalez-Roundy (Berkley, CA) have earned major awards from the New England Rowing Championships (NERC) and National Invitational Rowing Championships (NIRC) while seven others also earned NIRC Stewards All-Academic recognition, as announced by USRowing.

Gonzalez-Roundy claimed a spot on the NIRC All-Stewards Team while Loehle took home the NERC All-Scholar Award. Additionally, senior Kristin Olson (San Diego, CA) earned a NIRC All-Academic Team laurels for the third consecutive season.

Repeat NIRC All-Academic Team honorees include seniors Kayla McAvoy (Old Saybrook, CT) and Sarah Smith (San Jose, CA) and juniors Audrey Allen (Topsfield, MA), Jennifer Golden (Norton, MA) and Loehle. Earning the award for the first time are junior Julia Pershken (Albion, ME) along with sophomore Rachel Santarsiero (Glastonbury, CT).

The NERC All-Scholar Award recognizes the student-athlete in each program that has the highest cumulative GPA. To be eligible for the All-Scholar award a student-athlete must have the highest cumulative GPA within their respective program and also have completed one full-year at their institution.

For a student-athlete to be recognized to the NIRC All-Academic Team they must have completed one full-year at their institution (freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible), maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.35 and be recognized as a varsity letter winner.

Coaches are also able to nominate one student-athlete per program for additional recognition as a member of the NIRC All-Stewards Team. This recognition is left to the discretion of each institution's coach to provide another level of recognition for a deserving member of their program. This award goes to captains, outstanding oarsmen and women, team leaders or other key contributors of their respective program.

NERC Release

NIRC Release