Barinelli, Burke & St. Pierre Headline Women’s Rowing’s 10 CRCA Academic Honorees

Barinelli, Burke & St. Pierre Headline Women’s Rowing’s 10 CRCA Academic Honorees

WORCESTER – Led by three-time selections Eva Barinelli (Tewksbury, MA) and Madeline Burke (Verona, NJ), and 2019 NCAA Elite 90 honoree Sarah St. Pierre (Maynard, MA), 10 WPI women's rowers were recognized as National Scholar-Athletes for their work on the lake and in the classroom by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA).

In addition to Barinelli, the varsity eight boasted repeat selections in fellow co-captain Marlies de Jong (Huntington Beach, CA), as well as, coxswain Madison Healey (Atkinson, NH) and Christine Hovermale (Alameda, CA). Amelia Harvey (Sudbury, MA) also earned her first accolade.

Burke, the second varsity eight coxswain, and St. Pierre, who returned to the list, were joined by back-to-back honorees in Josephine Bowen (Lunenburg, MA) and Olivia Kiristis (Upton, MA), and Ally Sichler (Reading, PA) who was feted for the first time.

After an undefeated regular season and a No. 1 ranking for three weeks, the varsity eight won the NEWMAC Championship, was second at the New England Rowing Championships and, using an alternate lineup, placed third at the National Invitational Rowing Championship before taking second at the NCAA Division III Championships. The second varsity eight, who also won its NEWMAC Championship race and earned silver at the NCAA regatta, went 28-4 in April and placed third at the NERC.

CRCA National Scholar-Athletes met all eligibility rules as defined by her institution, had a 3.5 cumulative GPA or higher through the fall semester/quarter for the current competition year. was in her second, third or fourth year of eligibility, rowed in her institution's NCAA or IRA eligible boat(s) for a minimum of 75% of the current spring races or racing in a regional conference event and the head coach was a member in good standing of the CRCA as of May 1, 2019.

CRCA Release