Chabot Repeats as NEWMAC Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year

Brian Chabot

Westwood, MA --- For the second time in as many seasons WPI head coach Brian Chabot has been named as the NEWMAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year, as voted upon by his peers following Saturday's conference championship meet. In addition to both programs touting a quartet of All-NEWMAC honorees, seniors Steffany Halfrey (Hubbardston, MA) and Mark Landergan (Newburyport, MA) were selected as the NEWMAC All-Sportsmanship Team representatives.

Junior Sydney Packard (Georgetown, MA), graduate student Emily Newman (Easton, MA), sophomore Keely Nistler (Vadnais Heights, MN) and junior Ari Rozen (Carver, MA), who was making her season debut, earned All-Conference accolades by finishing in the top 17 to fuel WPI's second-place finish for the second consecutive year. The performance also saw the squad best then-No. 23 Coast Guard and move up to eighth in the USTFCCCA NCAA Division III regional poll.

The Engineers began the season by surpassing Holy Cross with a record 12th Worcester City Meet title. WPI then took fourth at the UMass Dartmouth Invitational before coming home ninth at the star-studded Purple Valley Classic. Three weeks later the Crimson and Gray placed 10th at the highly-competitive Conn. College Invitational.

It is the eighth NEWMAC award for Chabot, who also boasts four men's track & field and two women's track & field honors. He would go on to earn USTFCCCA NCAA Division III New England Men's Track & Field Coach of the year in 2009 and USTFCCCA NCAA Division III New England Women's Track & Field Coach of the Year in 2010, as well as another women's nod in 2015.

The cross country teams head to Bowdoin on Saturday, November 10 for the NCAA Division III New England Championships.

2018 NEWMAC Women's Cross Country
All-Conference (Top 17)


2018 NEWMAC Men's Cross Country
All-Conference (Top 14)

Kaitlyn Mooney, Coast Guard
Jenna Melanson, MIT
Leandra Zimmerman, MIT
Katie Bacher, MIT
Marissa McPhillips, MIT
Einat Gavish, MIT
Sydney Packard, WPI
Katie Collins, MIT
Grace Cowles, Wellesley
Emily Newman, WPI

Keely Nistler
Emily Niu, MIT
Olivia Suski, Coast Guard
Ari Rozen, WPI
Lindsay McCallister, MIT
Tessa Weiss, MIT
Katherine Leckbee, Wheaton
  Billy Woltz, MIT
Andrew Mah, MIT
Josh Rosenkranz, MIT
Brian Brooks, WPI
Josh Derrick, MIT
Alex Knapp, MIT
Aidan Gilson, MIT
Michael Brady, WPI
Kent Slaney, MIT
Andre Gallant, Coast Guard
Colton Atkinson, Coast Guard
Avery Ingegneri, WPI
Tom Hanlon, WPI
Jack Pinho, Springfield


NEWMAC Women's Cross Country Release | NEWMAC Men's Cross Country Release